More like “WTF Cupid!?”


I have never been one for online dating websites for a few reasons.

1. It’s cheesy, but I’m a believer in fate and meeting someone naturally.

2. It feels desperate.

3. The guy could be a crazy serial killer with people kept in his basement. 

4. It is where the “left-overs” of the dating world tend to go. It’s wrong to do, but we begin to wonder what is wrong with them when they are 30+, are still single, and resort to online dating.

5. It is a way that a lot of guys use to try and find cheap hookups. 

This weekend, I agreed to go on a second date from someone I met on OK Cupid. The first time we hung out we had drinks and a fun, casual first meeting…and after some recent drama in my love life I figured another casual hang out couldn’t hurt. The plan: Walk down to Pike Place Market, wander around, and have a late lunch. Sounded like a good Saturday activity to me.

Things started off fine. We caught up on what we’d been up to, exchanged Halloween stories, and plans for Thanksgiving. As we got to Pike Place, we started passing a few restaurants.

“Are you very hungry?” he asked me.

“Yeah,  I mean…I haven’t had lunch yet. Are you?” I asked, a bit puzzled. Um, do you remember when you asked me to meet you for lunch?

“Gotcha. I had a HUGE breakfast, so I’m not hungry. But, if you want something, we can get you something,” he said.

No one wants to eat alone on a date, so I kinda dropped it for a while and we walked around. After getting through the market, he suggested we go somewhere for cocktails. Ok…so you don’t want to feed me, but you DO want to get me drunk? Sounds great!

We went to one of my favorite bars in Post Alley, Zig Zag. Although I was a bit thrown off by his poorly planned date, I had a decent conversation with him. He is young (25…and I really only can date men at least two years older than me) so the conversation was pretty mindless and insignificant, but I wasn’t having an awful time. At the least, I had a delicious Vodka Honey Bear cocktail to enjoy.

It started getting late and we both had plans for later in the evening, so we asked for the check. I got up to go to the rest room and when I returned to our table, I was greeted with a question I have never, EVER been asked before on ANY date, let alone the SECOND.

“So, do you want to split this?” he asked like it was no big deal.

I really wonder what kind of face I made after he asked this crazy question. Is chivalry really that dead? You asked ME on this date. Don’t get me wrong, I am perfectly fine with going dutch after we’ve been seeing each other for a while and we are comfortable. I actually enjoying paying the bill sometimes. It feels good to treat your man, especially when he usually pays and he doesn’t expect it. I even don’t mind if I know that the guy I’m dating is having money problems or makes less than me. I don’t like being asked to do so though, especially when my date works for Microsoft, travels to Europe on a regular basis, and has no financial commitments, like a house. That is just rude.

Just when I thought this ridiculous date was over, he had the audacity to send me a text after dropping me off saying how much fun he had and how gorgeous he thought I looked. Sorry, buddy…but if you are looking for a girl to hook up with on the cheap by attempting to get me drunk by skimping on lunch and then proceeding to make me pay for my own “meal,” you’ve got the wrong girl. They really should call that dating site “WTF Cupid” instead, if you ask me. Needless to say, I deleted my profile and will not be back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More like “WTF Cupid!?”

  1. Love Thai says:

    wow, seriously dude, get with the “man” program, only boys do that sh*t. Glad you deleted your profile.

Leave a Reply

